To'abaita Authority for Research & Development (TARD)

[P.O Box 13, Honiara, Solomon Islands/ Email: Tel:+677 7424025]

Welcome to the TARD Homepage...{Sore lea tale oe uri fula lamu mai la biu ne'e TARD}...TARD is To'abaita's rural voice on the web

Friday, September 26, 2008

Results for Solomon bye-elections known

After much wait for the counting process for the two bye-elections in Solomon Islands, the winners are now determined.

Silas Milikada, a private businessman won the East Honiara by-election by a landslide victory of more than 2,000 votes ahead of the runner up. He polled 3,435 votes. His closest rival, Dr George Manimu, came second with 1,072 votes. Edward Ronia clinched the third place with 986 votes.

Meanwhile for Lau/Baelelea Constituency, Walter Folotalu has been the winner. Mr Folotalu was a former Member of Parliament for Baegu-Asifola, and was the first MP for that Constituency eight years ago.

Source: Solomon Star

Copyright©2006-2010 To'abaita Authority for Research and Development (TARD). All rights reserved