To'abaita Authority for Research & Development (TARD)

[P.O Box 13, Honiara, Solomon Islands/ Email: Tel:+677 7424025]

Welcome to the TARD Homepage...{Sore lea tale oe uri fula lamu mai la biu ne'e TARD}...TARD is To'abaita's rural voice on the web

Monday, December 18, 2006

Malaita voters go to the polls today to elect provincial members

People in various Wards in Malaita are going to the polls today to elect their Provincial Assembly members.

The elections today will be held in Wards 6 to 33 on Malaita. Wards 1 to 5 in Malaita already held their elections on Thursday last week.

In the first results from Malaita provincial elections, care-taker Malaita Premier Rueben Moli has failed to retained his seat of Aimela Ward. He was beaten in the elections by businessman Richard Namo.

It is understood that he is the only Premier to have lost in provincial assembly elections held this month. Care-taker Premiers in Isabel, Guadalcanal and Temotu Provinces have all been re-elected.

Other reports from the Malaita Provincial capital, Auki confirmed that former female member for Buma Ward in West Kwara'ae, Rose Anilabata, has also failed to be re-elected. The new Provincial Assembly member for Buma Ward is Robert Madeo. The other winners are: Ina Leong for Auki Ward, Erickson Otoia for Fauabu Ward and William Isui has retained his seat in the West Baegu/Fataleka Ward.

Source: SIBC

Copyright©2006-2010 To'abaita Authority for Research and Development (TARD). All rights reserved