To'abaita Authority for Research & Development (TARD)

[P.O Box 13, Honiara, Solomon Islands/ Email: Tel:+677 7424025]

Welcome to the TARD Homepage...{Sore lea tale oe uri fula lamu mai la biu ne'e TARD}...TARD is To'abaita's rural voice on the web

Saturday, August 19, 2006

Parliamentarians resign from Solomon Islands National Party

Six of the seven parliament members of the National Party in the Grand Coalition of Change Government have resigned from their political party as of today.

They are Joses Sanga, Patteson Oti, Isaac Tosika, Nollen Leni, Reverend Leslie Boseto and Martin Maga.

This is contained in a letter sent to the Party President and signed by the MPs.

They say they resigned from the party because the party machinery, especially the party executive had unsatisfactorily handled the stand off between the ruling government and the interim parliamentary wing leader of the party, Francis Billy Hilly.

They say the members are also dissatisfied with the manner in which the party had dealt with the selection of the Parliamentary Party Wing leader.

They say only two MPs were present contrary to what the party constitution says that all elected MPs of the National Party must decide on the leadership.

The MPs also say that the position advocated by the party on its position on the One-China Policy defeats the collective stance adopted by the coalition and undermines the policies of the government.

Source: SIBC

Copyright©2006-2010 To'abaita Authority for Research and Development (TARD). All rights reserved